Previously, the likes on the social media platform were public and visible to anyone who viewed the profile. However, now, users paying for the subscription can hide their liked posts so no one else can see them.
This feature is available under the profile customisation settings. When you enable the feature, only you can view your Likes tab on your profile, while your Likes timeline will be hidden from the public and X APIs, as well. However, your individual Likes will still be visible on posts.
“Your Likes tab on your profile will only be visible to you. Your Likes timeline will also be hidden from the X APIs. Your individual Likes will still be visible on posts,” the feature reads.
Here’s what Musk recommends
Musk, the owner of X, recommends users keep their liked posts open despite having the option to hide them. Well, Musk himself has kept his likes public, and he advises using bookmarks to save posts that might interest you.
Earlier this month, Elon Musk-owned X introduced a new feature that enables its subscribers to hide their verification checkmark.
The feature is similar to other microblogging platforms, such as Instagram’s Threads and BlueSky, where only the user can see their liked posts. Users on Threads can access their liked posts through the “Your Likes” tab in the settings, which is a private feature.
Bluesky, on the other hand, allows likes to be public, and applications using the Bluesky API can choose to display a likes tab on a user’s profile. However, this is available to all users on the two platforms, unlike X, which requires users to pay to hide their liked posts.